New to Pike fishing.

i am a rookie when it comes to pike fishing i need to know what lures/baits i should be using when it comes around to the pike open 5/11/24

Riverrat

You need to get into the mind of the pike. It’s angry, hungry, and sometimes horny. Focus on the first two. Baits that will urine them off, and baits that they think they can eat. I would start with some stick baits like a husky jerk. Spinnerbaits and chatterbaits are pretty effective.

Dutchboy
    Central Mn.

I like spinnerbaits (Bass style) and Spinners like Bucktails for casting. If you like messing with them rig and toss a white Fluke. You will get bit off but they are fun to watch smash your bait.

If trolling a old fashion 5 of Diamonds spoon is hard to beat. I also will use a Rattle Trap at times. Be sure to troll an “S” pattern and also pull your rod from time to time to change bait speed, that will trigger a strike.

If you are hunting big Pike a Rapala Super Shad is hard to beat.

If you are catching and releasing be sure to pinch the barbs down on your lure and wet your hand before touching the fish.

Have fun.

John Rasmussen
    Blaine

When I used to target them what the guys said is gold. Also if you have located a good spot and care to put a med to large sucker under a big bobber. If I remember correctly the tactic was to let them take the bobber under and wait until it resurfaced then set the hook. You can catch them on most anything honestly there not real hard to catch, at least the smaller ones aren’t.

Dutchboy
    Central Mn.

When I used to target them what the guys said is gold. Also if you have located a good spot and care to put a med to large sucker under a big bobber. If I remember correctly the tactic was to let them take the bobber under and wait until it resurfaced then set the hook. You can catch them on most anything honestly there not real hard to catch, at least the smaller ones aren’t.