? for Musky or large pike fishermen.

• fishthumper
    Sartell, MN.

I have been making my own Fluro Leaders for a few years now. I make them using the the Stay-lok snaps. The one problem I’ve run into is that Its hard or sometimes impossible due to the snap design to get the snap onto some Lures eyelet. The Suick and Bulldogs comes to mind. I spend a hour or so last night adding a split ring to the eyes of all problem lures. My questions is will adding that split ring effect the action of the lures much? is this something that others here also do to solve the issue? I used the triple rings that I use to replace damaged ones. Is there a better split ring design I should be using to attach to the eyelets?

CaptainMusky

IDK about the split rings, but the trick I do to get the stay loc through the eyelet and its worked for me on every lure I have is I turn it sideways and feed it through like putting a thread through a needle.

fishthumper
    Sartell, MN.

IDK about the split rings, but the trick I do to get the stay loc through the eyelet and its worked for me on every lure I have is I turn it sideways and feed it through like putting a thread through a needle.

I’ve tried everything possible. The only thing I’ve found that works is to open the bend at the end of the snap and then swivel it around the eyelet and then pinch it back closed. The way they come its to large to get through the eyelet as is and the bend is to small to swivel it around the eyelet. This process really weakens the bend and I fear will lead to failure.

BrianF

Will it effect action much? No, not much. Not enough to change the mind of a hungry musky IMO. And who knows? It may actually help.

Is it something others do to solve the issue? Don’t know about others but I do it all the time.

Is there a better design to attach to the eyelet? Besides heavy duty split rings and snaps? Not to my knowledge; not practical ones at least.