What size battery for ice fishing bundle

• ndrivrrat

What is everyone running for a battery for their ice fishing bundle with Live sonar. Thinking of going with a 23ah lithium, probably a Dakota Lithium. Is that big enough to run the Live sonar and the graph. Has anyone used any of the cheaper lithium batteries and had luck with them?

Smellson

I run a cheap 18ah lithium (Amazon). Lasts from sun up to sun down in my wheelhouse running livescope on the 93sv. I have the garmin shuttle so this was the largest battery I could fit but I don’t see the need for anything larger (I plug it in to charge overnight). I know some guys go larger to fish several days, I’m just not the guy that fishes more than 1 day without access to electricity. Can’t comment a whole lot on longevity as I’ve only run this battery for 1 year. But I can say I’ve been running a cheap lithium on my flasher for 3+ years and no signs of slowing down.

JoeMX1825
    MN

It all depends in the screen size and how long you plan on fishing before needing to recharge it. Take the combined listed amp draw of the screen and black box/transducer and multiply that out to see how many AH hour battery you need.

So a combined 3ah draw screen & ducer combo (Garmin UHD93 & LVS32/34) will get you about 6 hours use from an 18AH battery (conditions and settings can + or – that a bit)

ndrivrrat

If you hooked two 10ah batteries in parallel would it be the same as having a 20ah battery or not?

JoeMX1825
    MN

Sure, but you’re likely adding weight that way…

mojocandy101
    Alexandria, MN

I also run a 18 amp Amped in my ice bundle with a UHD93 and the lvs32 and yet to kill it ice fishing full days. I also use it in the summer in my boat dedicated to the black box only and have had full days as well. My settings must be different that what Joe is alluding to.

With that said get the bigger battery if its in the budget and can fit in the shuttle if weights not a issue.

Tlazer