New Guy in town

• duckwiz66

Hey guys, I registered a couple days ago, and have been reading alot, and thought I’d stand up and say Hey.

I just moved to Cedar Rapids, IA from 11 years in TX after growing up in MN for 26 yrs. I am looking forward to getting back into hooking into some ‘eyes again! Anyway, if someone is looking to fill a seat for a fishing trip, get ahold of me, and I’ll try to make it work. I grew up 100 yds from the Mississippi in Grand Rapids, MN, and want to learn how to fish it down here in the pools. I am an eager student, and it sounds like there is alot of expertise here. I’ve got a 14 ft Alumacraft lunker w/a 40 on the back, that’s not too small for the river, is it?

Thanks, and Tight Lines to All.

Korn King, I’d drive through Mt. Vernon on my way to the river, wouldn’t I?

Gianni
    Cedar Rapids, IA

When I have an open seat, I usually throw a post on either the Miss general discussion board if I’m heding to the big river, or the Iowa general discussion board if I’m sticking closer to home. You’re always welcome if I’ve got room, and even if my boat is full-up, two boats can cover ground and nail a pattern much faster than one. If we need an extra guy to fill up two boats, well, then KornKing will just have to suffer through a day away from “the Rock.”

Concerning Mt Vernon, it depends where you’re going. If I’m headed to 14, yes, I take 30 East over to Clinton and put in there behind the island, going through Mt Vernon and Lisbon, etc. If I’m headed up to 9 or 10, Hwy 13 straight to Prarie is the fastest. Ditto for 11, but I head East on 20 at Manchester and cut North at Dyersville. Pool 12 is a straight shot on 151, and was almost all 4-lane last time I took it.

With gas heading up to $2.25 for summer driving, I’m guessing we’ll all be wanting to car-pool.

Welcome to Cedar Rapids.

tony_p
    Waterloo, IA

That is a nice boat you have it is definitly not to small for the river.

JCK
    nora springs ia floyd

Welcome fellow Iowan