Turkey Calls

• Brian Klawitter
    Keymaster
    Minnesota/Wisconsin Mississippi River

It kind of depends on which lakes you fish in central WI.

Here’s the link to LakeMaster<<

Click on the WI chip…if the lakes you fish are covered, you’ll be very happy with this chip!

Brian Klawitter
    Keymaster
    Minnesota/Wisconsin Mississippi River

PS WELCOME TO IN-DEPTH OUTDOORS!

craig daugherty
    Osseo, Mn

Since the Turkey Season is still out a couple of months – I am in need of additional Turkey calling equipment. I am relatively new to Turkey Hunting, which calls do most of you hunters prefer -mouth calls, box calls or slate? Secondly, based on which call you prefer, which is the best call for the price?

sauger
    Hastings ,MN

Joel?????

Joel Nelson
    Southeast MN

I’ve got plenty of opinions, but I’d like to hear what other people like. I keep learning every year, trying new things here or there. What’s been successful for each of you?

Joel

PowerFred

I carry 1 glass call and 1 slate call along with 6-8 different strikers. The different species of wood and different diameters of strikers makes for quite an array of turkey sounds.

That gives me over a dozen different combinations of sounds to feel out the mood of the birds for any given day.
    One day it will be hickory on glass and the next will be walnut on slate. Versatility is the key for me.

I’m pretty good with a diaphragm when I’m at home, but I get way to dry when a big gobbler fires up and all I can do then is squeak a little! Thats why I use a friction call!

DANPEARSON
    Central WI