Monday bird down

• wildfan
    Ogilvie Minnesota

Well this is my first year turkey hunting and it has been an eventfull one!
    I have been scouting for awhile before the “f” season started,I set up my blind on sat. for the hunt on sun.
    I started out in a spot in my woods that would give me a close shot but I would not be able to see very far (maybe 40 yards).I got into the blind and set up by 5;00 am and started calling.I started to get a response by 5:30 and could hear by the gobbles that this gobbler was coming closer.He stopped gobbling back as he came into the thick part of the woods,but I kept on calling.
    At about 6:30 a jake came busting out of the brush and made up 40 yards in about 1.2 seconds after he spotted the Pretty boy and girl.
    Well he didn’t care about the hen decoy,but went straight to the tom and proceeded to beet the crap out of my tom decoy,I tried pounding on the side of the blind and yelling at him but to no avail.
    Well by this time I can see my decoy is getting the crap beat out of it and I ended up letting loose with the shotgun just to scare him off ( this barely worked).
    I tried the afternoon hunt without any action so I decided to relocate closer to the turkeys in some more open hardwoods and wood come out the next morning.
    The next morning came and I am out in the blind calling away with the decoys out.The birds were not vocal at all but I kept trying.
    At about 7:30 i was still calling once in awhile and noticed some movement off to my left “A Turkey”.
    I got my gun up slowly and waited for the bird to clear out from behind some trees and by this time I can see it was a nice tom.
    I made a few clucks to keep him coming,but by this time my pulse is going crazy and my breathing is totaly screwed up (just trying not to exhale into the mouth call).
    I waited for him to come in a little closer as he has seen the decoys at this point and is very interested.