I know its early, but…

• marbleye2
    Eagle Lake, MN

Since my spring turkey season is already done, I’ve turned my thoughts to the fall season. I’ve never done it before but have been smitten by the turkey bug.

Have any of you guys ever hunted the fall season? I’m assuming it’s a totally different kettle of fish.

It looks like from the DNR website that a lot of permits go unfilled in the fall. Does anyone have any experience with the fall season?

lick

fall is a whole different ball game as turkeys are in there “family groups” heres how i do it i bowhunt the evening listen for them to go to roost wait untill about 1 hour after dark go back in under the trees they are in let outa coyote howl till they fly in all direstions and split the flock up slip back in the morning and set up in the same roost area wait a little while the birds should be very vocal after being split up some yelps clucks and kee kees should put em right in your lap otherwise the birds are very patternable in the fall in where they roost and travel too and from feeding places so you could set up in travel areas also trail cameras can provide vital information also good luck fall hunting can be a blast

robstenger
    Northern Twin Cities, MN

I haven’t, I’m too busy in the stand.

But Good Luck if you get out!

Joel Nelson
    Southeast MN

Quote:

Since my spring turkey season is already done, I’ve turned my thoughts to the fall season. I’ve never done it before but have been smitten by the turkey bug.

Have any of you guys ever hunted the fall season? I’m assuming it’s a totally different kettle of fish.

It looks like from the DNR website that a lot of permits go unfilled in the fall. Does anyone have any experience with the fall season?

Marble – You bet, there’s alot of extra tags usually the later season in MN. I think part of the reason is that the birds aren’t very vocal this time of year in terms of the gobblers ripping it up after hen calls.