Trailer Bunk Brace Broke

• Greenhorn
    Bismarck, ND

We are new to bunk trailers – not sure what happened here, but the braces holding the bunks buckled and failed. The trailer vendor said we must have “surged” while loading or braked hard while towing (so no warranty), but I can’t recall anything like that happening. Thankfully these aren’t very expensive, but does anyone have tips on how to prevent this? This trailer holds an Alumacraft competitor 205.

Attachments:
    1. IMG_2935-scaled.jpeg

2. IMG_2936-scaled.jpeg

3. IMG_2958-scaled.jpeg

4. IMG_2956-scaled.jpeg

Greenhorn
    Bismarck, ND

Pics

Attachments:
    1. IMG_2936-1-scaled.jpeg

2. IMG_2935-1-scaled.jpeg

big_g
    Isle, MN

I am no expert, but I would guess too many power loads in water too shallow and the boat bending them as you load.

FinickyFish

I’ll let others speak on the engineering piece but if braking and using your standard maybe even required surge brakes void a warranty I would call ‘bunk'(pun intended). I would fight that.

TheFamousGrouse
    St. Paul, MN

IMO you should look up the manufacturers weight rating for your trailer.

Then calculate the weight of your boat as accurately as you can. Including fuel weight when full, all batteries, accessories and equipment.

Is the boat weight at or over the trailer limit?

Some may laugh but I have personally seen a boat/trailer package that a dealership sold where the trailer capacity was only 200 more than the DRY weight of the boat and motor. The owner found out about this the hard way after he broke an axle in Canada on the maiden voyage.

Ripjiggen

I would be calling BS. That should never happen from braking or power loading.

That metal does not look all that thick however and with the design of it bending front to back that looks to me like a fairly bad design.

MX1825

To me it looks like material is too light or the piece is not designed/engineered correctly. JMO

Jason

Looks like a cheap flimsy bracket.