Strange Mille Lacs Tiger Muskie?

• Walleyestudent Andy Cox
    Garrison MN-Mille Lacs

My buddy was up fishing the muskie opener Saturday and saw a few bigger one’s but ended up catching this. Not only does it look kind of odd (girth) it also looks like a tiger. We studied the pic for some time and are both leaning toward it being a tiger. Which then raises the next strange question. As far as we believe, there have never been any hybrid/tiger stocking in Mille Lacs so we agreed that their is a possibility it could have been naturally reproduced. Although rare, it does occur naturally at times. Anyone have any thought/theory or opinion on whether it’s even a tiger musky?

Attachments:
    1. millelacsopener.jpg

sticker
    StillwaterMN/Ottertail county

I am no expert by any means, but it looks like a tiger or tiger hybrid to me.

As far as the deformed part it looks like a really skinny fish that just had a large dinner, like a 15″ walleye doah

Francis K
    Champlin, MN

A few years back my son caught one with similar markings. To this day I still wonder what strain…

Attachments:
    1. 007.jpg

steve-fellegy
    Resides on the North Shores of Mille Lacs--guiding on Farm Island these days

I have had around 700 Lake Mille Lacs muskies in my boat ( mostly between 1995 and 2005) and would say it looks pretty typical of most of them. “heavily barred”….

Pat McSharry
    Keymaster
    Saint Michael, MN

A few years back my son caught one with similar markings. To this day I still wonder what strain…

Looks like a leech lake strain to me!

steve-fellegy

Great pic! Looks like all the Lake Mille Lacs “mousekies” I have had in my hands! Leech Lake strain…

Walleyestudent Andy Cox
    Garrison MN-Mille Lacs

OK Francis, care to divulge the lake that your boy caught his fish? No horizon in the background.

Are we then concluding my buddy caught a Leech lake strain? Just looks way different than others we’ve seen.

steve-fellegy