Saddle hunting

• slabz

Who here has some experience when it comes to saddle hunting? I have been kicking the tires for a few years now but think I’m about to give it a shot. It would be used mainly as a hike in public land set up for me. Looking for any information on what you guys think of saddle hunting in general..also recommendations on saddles, sticks, platform, etc would be fantastic! Thanks!

Youbetcha
    Anoka County

The saddle is my main tool for public. some guys hate it and think its pretty uncomfortable but I have been really liking mine. I run a tethrd phantom & their predator platform. right now I have xop full length sticks but will most likely pull the trigger on some lone wolf custom gear double sticks when they come back in stock. I do 100% hang & Hunts on public during season. if you do end up grabbing one mess around with it a bunch on ground level and figure out what setup is comfortable.

bigcrappie
    Blaine

Check out Youtuber “Hunt Urban” he has lots of info about the ropes and how to use them to get a rock solid shot.

gunsmith89
    eyota, mn

I have the Trophyline covert lite and love it. One piece of advice take it for what its worth is take plenty of time when you do get the one you pick and practice hanging shooting and setting it up. I still have some struggles getting 100% steady for shots (some is the platform). I think the platform is just as important as the saddle.

I also shoot a 60″ trad bow and think if I ran a wheel bow it might be a touch easier.

FishBlood&RiverMud
    Prescott

<div class=”d4p-bbt-quote-title”>FishBlood&RiverMud wrote:</div>
    Go to saddlehunter.com

Do you shoot your xbow out of it? Thoughts?

People been hunting from home made saddles for over 40 years already. It has only recently gone mainstream. Longbow, crossbow, rifle, etc.