Quality store brand tools

• Stanley

My 17yr old son wants to buy some basic tools to keep in his vehicle and to have for life stuff down the road. I want decent quality and over the counter warranty if possible for convenience. Home Depot, Menards, harbor freight, Napa etc. I make my living using my tools so I have Mac, matco, and snap on. Also have a variety of their tools for home use so I need some recommendations for him as I don’t have much experience with the store brands and their warranty process.

glenn57
    cold spring mn

i’ve been happy with the tools from Menards! and you get an 11% rebate!!!! rotflol woot

i have bought some stuff from harbor freight…..not impressed.

blank

I can’t help much with brand recommendations, but great idea to get the boy some tools. My uncles got me a nice complete set of Craftsman tools (sockets, wrenches, drivers, etc) for my HS graduation that I keep in my truck and have been put to good use over the years for many different repairs/projects.

Zach Peterson
    Austin, Mn

For what he’s looking for, I’d spring for Harbor Freight stuff. Both lines ( Pittsburgh and Icon) are decent stuff for the money. The thing I like about the Icon line is they don’t skip any sizes in any of the sets they offer. On par with the brands you mentioned you use for work? No, but a decent value.

They’ve honestly come a long way from what they were in their hand tool dept. The couple things I have had to turn in for warranty was as simple as bring it in, set it on the counter and walk out with a new one (as long as they have it in stock). I do still have and like my craftsman stuff, but more often than not I’m reaching for my Pittsburgh or Icon ratchets

bigcrappie
    Blaine

Icon is one of the better off brands, Lowes still carries Craftsman also.

Riverrat