Learning to fish!

• fishermissis
    Red Wing

Hi! I’m a NEWBIE to this forum. Here’s my question – How can a woman who LOVES to fish, LEARN to fish? I’m HAPPILY married with 2 teenage sons, and NONE of the guys in my house like to fish. So I’m stuck at home watching Al, Jim, and the other guys on the InFisherman videos that I recently checked out from the local library. Interesting stuff, but I WISH I could get out on the water. I realize that if I were a GUY, I could go fishing with the guys… but I’m not, so I’m looking for someone who is willing to take a “big kid” fishing.
    I’ve fished near Canada for walleyes (trolling with lindy rigs and jigging), fished for panfish from my kayak, but that’s about it. I want more experience fishing Pool 4. Anybody interested?

cherilovell
    Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin

Hey, another girl to join us
    I’ll go fishing with you anytime you want. Don’t know much about pool 4 thou, but if you ever want to come out this way too, just let me know, don’t have a boat, but there is some shore fishing around.

fishermissis
    Red Wing

Hey Muskygirl! Nice fish! Thanks for the welcome! Where’s Ferryville?

cherilovell
    Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin

Out here along HWY 35 by pool 9 – just north of Prairie du Chien

jhalfen

First of all, welcome to the site. You’re going to learn a lot about fishing and meet some great people during your time here.

I suspect that you will not have any trouble finding one of your fellow IDA members who would be willing to spend the afternoon on Pool 4 with you. Many of us fish the area very very regularly and are happy to share the boat with a new friend. I suggest that you drop a line here in advance of the day(s) that you want to fish, and I strongly suspect that someone would be willing to pick you up at one of the launches in Red Wing or at Everts Resort and help you put a couple of fish in the boat. Heck, bring your hubbie along, and maybe we can turn him to the darkside!