Photographer looking for advice on Kayaks

• Charles Cape

He guys and gals I’m an avid wildlife photographer looking for a suitable fishing kayak for photography. Needs to be super stable and hopefully very comfy as well as plenty of storage area and reliable. I’m also intrigued by the pedal drives. Budget 1 to 2k.

Jake
    Brainerd

if weight isn’t an issue and your willing to do some digging I’d be willing to bet you can find a hobie pro angler for 2k or slightly more. Might be older, but I think the hulls are the same.

stevenoak

I have a Hobie Outback. Base boat was $3200. About $5500 when I was done. It’s a very dry ride. I take it out a few miles in the gulf in the winter. Several choices of pedal kayaks. Like anything, they all have advantages and disadvantages. Most decent entry level pedals start about $2k. They leave your hands free for your photography. Also you aren’t dragging water in with a paddle. Best scenario. Find a dealer with several to check out. Sit on tops are cheaper. But ride is not as dry. May also have equip roll off in the drink. Most will recommend at least 12′, if you can haul and handle it comfortably out of that water. Shorter boats don’t track as straight. Last think about where you want to shoot your photos. Streams, or bigger water. Lots of good magazines and info on the internet. Even a few shows on the outdoor networks kayak specific. Good luck. I used mine 29 days in Jan and Feb in Florida. More than my flat bottom and walleye boat boats, the rest of the summer.

stevenoak

if weight isn’t an issue and your willing to do some digging I’d be willing to bet you can find a hobie pro angler for 2k or slightly more. Might be older, but I think the hulls are the same.