Need help locating best fishing spots

• Beau Smith

Hi I’m still new to ice fishing and I’m fishing a new lake this weekend and wanted to get opinions on where I should set up. I primary plan on jigging for pan-fish while I set two tip-ups for pike, not sure what depths to try locating these fish. I attached a lake chart of the lake I’m fishing, so if someone could analyze the map and give some tips that would be great. Thanks!

Attachments:
    1. lake.jpg

2. lake-john.jpg

rjthehunter
    Brainerd

Start drilling holes in the basin the 23 to 18 feet of water working your way north. Then check every hole and if you don’t mark any fish, keep moving, then I’d try drilling from the basin in 23 feet to the northwest where it makes a bit of an inside turn and isn’t as steep. Doesn’t look like a large lake so you should be able to find them! Best of luck!

Eelpoutguy
    Farmington, Outing

I’d start in the basin and work my way W – SW to the steep break.

Dusty Gesinger
    Minnetrista, Minnesota

How deep is the weed line?

Bearcat89
    North branch, mn

I’d start in the basin and work my way W – SW to the steep break.

I agree with epg.
    But if I was getting there early in the day I would set my tip ups in about 12 to 15 ft for pike and set the sucker down 6 to 8 ft.
    Then jig from the shallow west and move out deeper as the day progresses.

Bearcat89
    North branch, mn

The tip ups would be on the steep break on the west side if I didnt make that clear. In 12 to 15 foot .

tim hurley

Nice sharp break next to a shallow flat on the SW side(as others have said) would be great for tippies-bait with cheese ‘sconi’ pike love cheese!

Bearcat89
    North branch, mn

Nice sharp break next to a shallow flat on the SW side(as others have said) would be great for tippies-bait with cheese ‘sconi’ <strong class=”ido-tag-strong”>pike love cheese!

Gotta add a chunk of hot dog on that cheese

Beau Smith