Leaders for tip ups

• IceFishing4Life

So I’ve been using 20lb fluorocarbon on my tipups with moderate success. I have had a ton of bites but have had a few bite offs. Wondering what everyone uses on their tip ups for leaders. Plus I don’t like steel because I feel i get less bites with them in my experience. Thanks

Jack
    Stillwater, MN

Try using some heavier flouro. I use 40lb and have yet to get bit off. I feel like ive had better success with flouro than steel leaders.

IceFishing4Life

Where do you buy that heavy of line at. I can’t find any place that sells that heavy of a line at a store.

Jack
    Stillwater, MN

Fleet farm or cabelas should have some. The stuff I used is called berkley vanish

Bass Thumb
    Royalton, MN

What do you guys hook under the fluorocarbon, one of those pre-made, wire-leader, double-treble-hook rigs? Or you you make your own rig with flourocarbon line?

I’m new to tip-ups.

Chandler Husbye
    Michigan Upper Peninsula (Bay de Noc area)

10lb extra tough mono! landed multiple pike over 30in. Just have to play them out. I use it for walleye but of course pike have to come along too. If your fishing just pike I would go to a 30lb braided. When you notice it fraying just retie. If you want to stay away from the braided use a heavy fluorocarbon.

troutbum
    St. Paul

Seaguar is a great flouro. Theyll have what you need.

Garrett Van Gorden

I use 14# fireline clear and catch plenty of eyes and up to 30″ pike with no breaks. Like with all leaders, check for fraying after each fish and if any doubts, swap it out! Hate to lose a trophy on something you had your doubts on before putting resetting.

James Walliser