Is it wrong that I shot a Diamond and liked it?

• TheFamousGrouse
    St. Paul, MN

OK guys, I need an honest opinion. I’m a total archery noob, never owned a compound bow, never shot a compound bow, hadn’t even shot a bow since cub scout camp in 1979. So yeah, relatively inexperienced then…

So I’ve been shooting bows here and there, everybody’s advice seems to be shoot a lot of bows and see what you like. That’s what I’m doing.

On Friday I found myself at a loose end with the kids being at a friend’s house, so I went to Cabelas and shot some bows. One of the ones I shot was a Diamond Provider. Which I really liked! I was shooting it head to head against two Bear bows that are more expensive than the Diamond, but the Diamond felt really good and it was noticeably lighter and just felt better.

I’ve shot Bear, Mission, and PSE so far, and the Diamond seems to have the best feel to me of any that I’ve shot.

OK, so now the “So why didn’t you buy it?” part. I then made the mistake of looking for reviews on the internet. Ummmm, Diamond seems to get a lot of “don’t bother” reviews with most suggesting that it’s a beginner brand that has to be upgraded as soon as the training wheels come off. Most common them seems to be “wish I’d just bought a brand X first” type of thing.

Is Diamond just something I should just pass on? I’m not going to shell out the coin for the top end brands, mainly I just want to shoot with the kids.

Any reasons to really avoid Diamond?

Grouse

Pat McSharry
    Keymaster
    Saint Michael, MN

Their is nothing wrong with getting a package setup to get into archery. I don’t know many people that go out and spend 1500$ on their very first bow. Unfortunately you tend to have a few more issues with the low end bows compared to the upper end models.