What kind of flasher should I buy?

• FlightBob
    East Central MN

Hi Brian. First post here on I Do Fishing. From what I have seen this is a great web-site and look forward to reading everyones posts. I need a little help. I am trying to make my ice fishing trips as productive as possible. Many have said that the first step is a flasher. I have no experience with them, and it is hard to get a feel for the best bang for your buck. I am looking to spend between $200-$300 new or used. The most common brands I have seen are Marc, Vex, and Hummin. Gander Mt has a Marc 4 for $200 on sale right now(Good Deal?). Any suggestions of wisdom would be appreciated.
    Thank you
    -Bob

BradHawthorne
    Hawkbill point

The MarCum VX-1 is definitely the best “bang for the buck” right now….If you can find a Gander that still has them for $199- Otherwise I’d keep an eye on the on-line classifieds, you might be able to pick up a used LX-3 for around $300, if you find one for that price you, jump on it. Have fun on the ice this winter Bob!

Brian Klawitter
    Keymaster
    Minnesota/Wisconsin Mississippi River

Bob, what are you doing this coming Saturday?

You’ll have 30 differant answers from people on line here…and you know what? Each answer will be right…for them. Everyone has a reason why they like the flasher that they own.

Come on down to the Marcum High Power Challenge<<< on White Bear Lake any you decide what’s right for you.

Click on the link for more details.

This might be the most informative actual on the water demo ever held on ice!

Welcome to IDO to both of you!

Calvin Svihel
    Northwest Metro, MN

Welcome to IDO…

The event that Brian is talking about is an excellent way to “kick the tires” on all brands. Allows you to decide which unit will best fit your fishing style.
    Good luck this ice season and welcome aboard again.

Jesse Krook
    Y.M.H.