Quick Strike Riging Tips Please

• fishing_4food
    Central Michigan

Here goes,

Well to start off I am new to the sport of ice fishing especially tip up fishing. I have not been successful in too weeks of fishing all day on Fridays. Except for last Friday I had a fish get off my tip up. I went to Gander Mountain in Saginaw and got some other gear for this week all day go at it. I had purchased a Dual Hook Quick Strike Rig from High Tech Fishing and I wanted to see how some people set them up to fish. As of right now I’ve attached it to some 20 pound test line about 8 inches or so above a sinker tied of at the bottom of the line.

First off, is this the right set up for a quick strike rig? And secondly how would you hook a shiner or any bait to the setup? I can only assume that the bottom hook goes just behind the head, underneath the back bone. I going to assume that the other treble hook is for another bait fish or do you hook it to the bait fish for the bottom hook?

Any tips or tricks from the masters would be appreciated

Thanks

dave-barber
    St Francis, MN

Welcome, Fishing_4food! Glad to have you with us.

First of all… what is your target species of fish?

For tip-up fishing, I use those round Frabil tipups. I have 20 or 30 lb test tip-up line. I normally target Northern Pike, so I set a sinker about 12-18 inches up from the bait. I use a single red or gold #2 hook and hook them right behind the dorsal fin on the back. I have had better hooksets this way.

More importantly, what kind of structure are you fishing on? For Pike, just off the weedbeds is prime targeting area. The lakes I fish on, that is anywhere between 6 and 12 FOW.

Good Luck!!!

luckydog2
    The Villages Florida

You did not give your location! Regulation differ, depending which state you are fishing in. What are you fishing for, Walleye, Northern? More info please.

gary_wellman
    South Metro

Welcome to IDA!

Get us more info and we’ll get ya set up!

ErikHendo
    Crosslake, MN