Finding fish on Mille Lacs?!?

• millelacsjumbos
    Minnesota

After much begging from my father I have finally set my pride aside and have resorted to asking all you IDA’ers for some help. As some of you know, I’m relatively new to ice fishing. I bought a wheel house with my father last winter and have been out on Mille Lacs a grand total of about 15 times. Late last February and early in March we would just drive out onto the lake, stop, and set up. Surprisingly, we managed to catch a fair amount of fish.

I sat around all summer waiting for winter to come. Now that it has come, I find myself “walleyeless” here the third week in January. I bought a cheap GPS unit this summer. It does not have a detailed map or anything, but I have been marking each place we fish. As of last weekend we have set up our house at 18 different places along the East side of Mille Lacs. Mostly out of Hunters Point, but we have been up to Fishers and down to Walleye Dundee’s. So with all the work I feel I have put into trying to find some fish I’m starting to get discouraged. So is my 60 year old dad who doesn’t have the energy to move the house 4 or 5 times a day. Last weekend I actually took a pop-up tent and punched 20-30 holes and just could not find any fish.