auger repair

• redneckjr
    Rosemount, MN

I would like to get my auger repaired. Does anyone know of a place in the south metro that is relitavily cheap, but does good work?

nick
    Lakeville, MN

What’s wrong with it?

ggoody
    Mpls MN

Quote:

What’s wrong with it?

Yep?

redneckjr
    Rosemount, MN

Well, I don’t really know I’m not that good with motors. But It starts REALLY hard if it starts at all, and when it does run it is weak and dies under pressure while drilling the hole. and the throttle dosen’t work quite right.

jbob
    Hastings, MN

What kind of auger is it? If it is a strike master take it to the factory on Hwy 10 in Big Lake.

redneckjr
    Rosemount, MN

It’s a strikemaster, but it’s an OLD one.

nick
    Lakeville, MN

I would think you have a fuel problem, probably too lean, probably a clogged jet.

If it were me, I’d get a new spark plug and tear into the carb see if there is any junk floating in the bowl clean the jets out with some carb cleaner, it’s not really rocket science, You should be able to do that without much effort and about $5. I’d also check to make sure air can get in easy, clean air filter, and maybe check the muffler if possible. The biggest worry I’d probably have is the gaskets on the carb, if they are bad and you need to replace them, you’ll probably have to order them, which may take some time or whatever, but I guess if it isn’t usable then it’s probably not much of a loss. Then I’d run some seafoam through it.

It really should be a simple job, a good thing to learn IMHO. If you are really too scared to tear into it yourself, give me a holler, not to try and say I’m a engine mechanic in any stretch of anyone’s mind, I’d done this with a couple of different carbsand I’ve had good luck thus far, but no promises, I’d help ya out for free, but buyer beware you may get what you paid for .

birddog
    Mn.