Ice fishing the Dark and mysterious…..

• cade-laufenberg
    Winona,MN/La Crosse, WI

This is something I have little experience. Everytime the sun goes down, the bite really shuts off for me. I would like to possibly spend a full night on the river to see what I can do at night on the ice this winter…Am I missing something? I just can’t muster up more than a few crappies and gills onece the sun goes down! I know theres a few Ida’ers out there that might be able to help me out. I’m mostly interested in what times to look for the bite to heat up. I would think some of the nocternal slabs would come alive just after the sunset, but it never happens for me. I’m guessing they must turn on much later. Any info would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks,
    Cade

jrrendler
    Mantorville, MN

I don’t ice fish a lot….but I have had the same problem…..nothin after sunset.

aaronr
    Dundee, Iowa

ive always hurd useing lattens on the ice(if theres no snow) to make it shine and the crappies will come. i dont know if it works but im gonna try it this year.
    -Aaron

matt_grow
    Albertville MN

Cade I hate to be so general but,….A fish’ life revolves around the light. Thats obvious. I’m a beleiver in that the patterns of fish are determined by daylight available. Now I know that there are plenty of other factors but light is a big one along with temperature. When that sun goes down, different things are happening. I’m not sure if you’re changing your attack at this point, but you should be. How well can those fish see? Are they changing their depths in search of food? Are they laying low from predator fish? What are they doing before they shut off?
    Those are questions I can’t answer, and are questions you should be thinking about. If you want stereotypical amswers I’m going to guess that the gills are laying low in the dark to avoid being a meal, and the craps are looking for their protective schools deeper in order to make their runs to shallower water for food.