What Type of ATV For Ice Fishing

• tonyholland00
    Plymouth MN

Hello looking at getting a ATV for only Ice fishing use. Do i need 4X4 or can 2X4 with chains do? How high of CC’s do i need. I am looking at Honda Ranchers in the 350 400 range. I am only going to use it for ice fishing. Pulling only a Fish Trap Yukon or a atv trailer with my house and friends on it.

Thanks,

Whiskerkev
    Madison

Get the 4 wheel drive.

roosterrouster
    Inactive
    The "IGH"...

I agree. I have a Bombardier Outlander 330HO and on ice and snow 4X4 is a must if you want to get anywhere…RR

troutsrus
    Lytton Iowa

You would be WAAAY happier with a 4 wheel drive. We have both and even with chains on the 2 wheeler , its not enough a lot of times.

big_g
    Isle, MN

Why do they make a 4×2 anyways….

4 x 4

fishman1
    Dubuque, Iowa

Ice won’t get thick enough this year so buy a new boat instead.

bret_clark
    Sparta, WI

Quote:

Ice won’t get thick enough this year so buy a new boat instead.

Who let the party pooper in here

It looks like 4×4 hands down. I do have a question though for the ones that have ran the 4×2 with chains. How much snow does it take to bog it down? Also, on just ice how does it pull a load?
    I’m just asking because if a guy could pick up a 4×2 for $200 (thanks to relatives) I would like to know what its limits are without finding out the hard way

deepportage

My wifes 250 polaris 4×2 pulls only in ideal conditions less that 6 inches of snow and if there is water on the ice she’s done[with chains]. The more weight you pull with it the worse it gets but it will work in a pinch but ageen not the ideal avt for ice fishing. if you have plowed roads the whole way your good to go, any x country should be out of the ?

muskybuck
    Coon Rapids, MN

For ice fishing use a snowmobile. That’s the way to go.

lundgeye
    Rochester, Minnesota

or a 4×4 ATV with tracks….awesome looking setup!

Brian Klawitter
    Keymaster