auger problems?

• zoomer
    Twin Cities

I have a strikemaster auger and put a new blade on it last spring before I put it to bed. I have drilled maybe 30 holes this year and it was just not punching through the ice like it used to. It will bind up often especially when I get near to breaking through. I put a new blade on it and encountered the same thing. I then went to Joes to check to make sure I pout the blade on right I had attached to the bottom and it should have been placed on the top of the bar. Back out on the ice and same problem did not seem to grip then would bind up way too much work for a gas auger. Is it just the ice this year? Do I have a defective blade (tried three), Am I still putting the blade on wrong or do I have more serious issues the wife seems to think it is not rotating fast enough. Any advice would be appreciated.
    Zoomer

scottsteil
    Central MN

Your angle is off it sounds like. I wonder if you auger got bent a little. Does it cut good until the bottom of the hole and then get stuck or does it just not cut good in general?

zoomer
    Twin Cities

Does not cut good in general even stating out will “swish” around before starting a hole and like I said will bind up 4 or 5 times before breaking through. Is the angle something I can adjust. I have been pretty careful with it and store it on a rack in the basement during the summer months.

hunt4fun
    becker Minnesota

just call cy at strickemasters 763-263-8999 he is head of service he will figure it out

gregory
    Red wing,mn

is it a lazor or chipper style?

zoomer
    Twin Cities

Mag 2000

gregory
    Red wing,mn

I would start by putting a new blade on it since the blade was put on wrong it could of bent it just a tiny bit and that is all it takes.let us know if you get working..

TGM
    Lakeville,MN.

Zoomer,you mentioned that your auger kind of swished around