Perch Lakes?

• craigrbox
    Bloomington, MN

Hey guys, I have been in search of a couple lakes that hold perch in the metro area. I know about Winnie and some of the northern lakes but i have had no luck finding lakes in the metro (besides Eagle) that hold perch with any size to them. With a 9 month old and a wife that works full time I am only getting a Tirp to LOW and Red Lake this winter, gotta take what I can get. So with that being said it is local lakes for me and I lost.
    I am new to perch fishing in the sense that I haven’t done it since I was a kid 20 years ago. Are there certain types of lakes to look for (depth,structure,Size)?
    I have a couple of friends that don’t believe me that they are damn tasty fish and I am looking to prove them wrong, they think I am pulling thier leg. I grew up going to friday night perch fries, would probably pass up a walleye for a good perch fillet.

Any help would be appreciated.

chris-tuckner
    Hastings/Isle MN

Kind of a tough call in the Metro area. Perch are a fish that tend to do better in large lakes where they can school and find safety in numbers. Smaller lakes in and around the Metro are mostly fertile lakes made up of mostly panfish and larger predators like pike, musky and bass that tend to keep perch populations in check, or at least small in size. I have had some luck on Prior Lake catching some nice sized perch along with sunnies. Unless someone else has a better idea, you may just have to target sunnies and crappies, and take your incidental perch. Otherwise, Mille lacs is only 2.5 hours away! You can contact IDA Pro Staffers Bob Carlson and Scott Steil (And others here on IDA!) for up to the minute perch bite info! Let us know how you fare!
    Good luck!
    Tuck

fishinallday
    Montrose Mn