New to flashers

• wood913

Well I am new to ice fishing with a flasher and have had my new 18 on the ice 3 times. What a kick in the pants!!!!! I have a 9 degree trans. on it and I am only in 8 foot of water but have been getting fish to show up and even catching some. I have been using the zoom in lp mode but am confused at times what I am seeing.
    > Can green and / or orange lines inside the red indicate fish on the bottom?
    > Sometimes everything on the display is calm and the only thing moving is the jig signal then all of sudden there is all kinds of movement and color changes inside the red bottom signal. Fish???
    > Does a constant thin green line next to the leading edge of the red bottom signal indicate the outside perimeter of the cone? Weeds? Fish?
    > Would a 19 degree transducer be more effective in 8 to 10 feet of water than the 9 degree I am using? I guess if a fish is going to show up at my jig it will show up regardless of the transducer I am using.
    > The blue Genz box sucks and I think I need to build a box of my own. Oh well, I’m a rookie.

chamberschamps
    Mazomanie, WI

Congrats! What a cool tool these are.
    I got mine last year and it blew me away.

I’m no pro by any means, but here’s what I found.

You often cannot tell if fish are tight on the bottom. They just look like the bottom. Jig right above them and if the bottom suddenly separates into a band, theres a fish there.

Think of the size of your jig and the size band it makes. Any schmuck floating down there (weeds, plankton, whatever) shows too. A lot of times you see a bunch of stuff come in half way down. Sometimes these are crappie and you can get them to chase your jig.

Fish directly below you show strong red bands, outside the cone are thin green bands. Sometimes you can draw in the outside fish.

Don’t be married to the bottom. Draw the fish up a few feet, these are aggresive hungary fish. The fish that will move up in the water will typically hit your jig.