walleye on tip ups

• zoomer
    Twin Cities

I am fairly new to the ice fishing scene. I have found it fairly easy to catch northerns on tip ups but was wondering if people target walleye on tip us and if so what technique do they use? or would I be better off with a jig and a minnow, if so what jigs seem to out perform others?
    Zoomer

Castaway
    Otsego,MN

I will sometimes use a tip up for walleyes with a small jig or plain hook and set it up about 10 feet away from the hole I am jigging in with a spoon or sweedish pimple.They both are effective and work well in combination and make it easy to fish 2 lines.

tipupsonly
    Western Wisconsin

What kinda of plain hook? A single or a small treble hook?

Castaway
    Otsego,MN

I usually use a single colored hook,red mostly.

superdave
    NE IA

Do you just use the black tip up line, and then tie off a leader to it? I’m making a trip to Waubay this winter, thats what I thought about doint, just put a snap swivel on the ends, and then have leaders pre-rigged for Northerns or walleyes.

Pig-hunter
    Southern Minnesota

I tipup quite a bit for walleyes. I just use the colored gammy hooks and a sinker. Use the plastic coated tipup line and tie a swivel on the end, and use a flouro leader.

Big shiners or smallish suckers are usually the bait of choice for me. If the minnows are too big or powerful, clip their tails and they won’t be able to trip the flag.

I’ve caught more big walleyes tipupping than any other way on the ice.

matt_grow
    Albertville MN