Favorite la crosse early ice spots…

• twedul
    Holmen, WI

I am wondering where people’s favorite first ice is in the la crosse region. I know the crappie are great on lake Onalaska before you can drive out with your vehicle. I also went over to Tomah and fished the bogs for the first time last year!!! We pulled out some HOGS and I can tell you that is the first place I plan on going this year. If you stop in at the bait shop in Tomah, the owner can really point you in the right direction. He helped us out a lot!!! We went to Denis Rezin’s / Raisen’s (sp?)place where you paid $3 dollars to fish for the day, but there are other places you can fish where you don’t have to pay. We went there just because we had seen a tv show that was filmed at his place and they were slaughtering them!!! I am new to ice fishing the area and am looking for a couple helpful hints if you got any. I can’t tell you how fired up I am about the ice coming!!!!

Later, Ted

cade-laufenberg
    Winona,MN/La Crosse, WI

Try shady maple just south of lacrosse. It has a great early perch bite as well as late. jig ’em up or tip em up!
    PS…there are some big walleyes there…we pulled a 7.9 out of there a couple years back on the tip up…3-4 feet of water! creapy coming through the hole when you are expecting a 10 inch perch!

bassking27
    La Crosse, Wisconsin

i don’t know about early ice but i know later on stoddard has been known to produce quite a few gills

twedul
    Holmen, WI

Thanks for the posts guys. Big fish, I have never even heard of fishing walleye with tip-ups!?!? What type of set up do you use? Trebble hook with a minnow? You also use tip-ups for the perch? Is the set-up different with those? Talk more soon…Ted

cade-laufenberg
    Winona,MN/La Crosse, WI

hi,