Strikemaster Lazer Mag help!

• steuben1
    Indiana

I had problems with my Lazer mag last week at Little Bay De Noc. The unit starts just fine but when I try to apply throttle it bogs down really bad. So bad I could not even drill with it. I changed the fuel and changed the plug but that did not help. Frustrating since my buddy I was fishing with had a Jiffy and was laughing at me! Question being, I have a Strikemaster “authorized repair shop” close to me but how can I be sure they know what they are doing? I really like the Lazer Mag and I don’t want more things to go wrong with it with someone who is not qualified. Should I just bite the bullet and ship it back to Strikemaster? Is there anything else I can try on my own to fix it? Anyone from Strikemaster around that can chime in?

What do you guys think? Thanks!

Steuben1

James Holst
    Keymaster
    SE Minnesota

Typically small engine fixes are very simple and straightforward. Take it to the licensed repair center. I’m confident it will be something small and they’ll have you back on the ice in short order.

mower
    Wisconsin, Outagamie

Check a couple of posts back. I think bending something in the carb. helps.

derek_johnston
    On the water- Minnesota

Sounds like a dirty carb. There is a round float bowl in the engine. They usually screw off. Spray the bowl with carb cleaner then use 4# mono to clean the jets. I would then run some seafoam through it.

JimmyClark
    Eagle Point Wi. USA

It’s also rumored that by replacing the plug (CJ-6)with a hotter burning one (CJ-8), it’ll run better. Myself, the repair shop sounds the best option, that way you knw it should have been done right.

derek_johnston
    On the water- Minnesota

An run premium gas. 92 octane

140-zuki
    Cokato, MN

Premium is fine but the non oxygenated is better. I run this in all of my small engines and notice a big difference. Just not all gas stations carry it. It is 91 octane.

sauger
    Hastings ,MN

Plugged jet

Castaway