Hummingbugs

• LabDaddy1

Every year about this time the yellowjackets start ramping up and hogging the hummingbird feeders. This year they are horrible(so are the wasps, but different topic). I feel bad watching the hummers struggle to get a sip.

What does everybody do/use to combat this issue? Thanks.

Beast

yellowjacket traps might slow up they’re numbers.

glenn57
    cold spring mn

Are you referring to the yellow jackets as bumble bees??,

I have some wasps and hornets but not many bothering the feeders.

Beast is right, I religiously use wasp traps and definitely helps

But then I also have 2 fly traps out also

LabDaddy1

No, yellowjackets. They’re smaller than paper wasps but built similarly. Some might refer to them as “ground bees.” They can be aggressive little buggers. When I used to collect recycling for a living they made work extra hellish during late summer and fall. Wasps did too, but those Yellowjackets have a real sweet tooth. Any residual sugar from empty cans/bottles would have them swarming the bin. Good luck approaching it, let alone wheeling it and dumping it! I really felt bad for the garbage men…

LabDaddy1

Yellowjacket traps are a thing, huh? I’ll have to look em up and buy some. Thanks.

I hate to kill pollinators but hummingbirds are pollinators too and I like them a lot more than the little stinging armored flying tanks lol

LabDaddy1

Side note: I’ve been spraying wasp nests around the yard the last couple days. It’s nuts how many there are. Probably killed 150-200 from just four or five nests… in the clothes line poles and under the eve of the shed. Crazy. Never have had this many in the past.

Ron
    Victoria, mn