How to jig

• MDK

I’m new to all of this. Just bought my first boat. I’m in pool 16, whereas most of the discussion here seems focused on pool 2/4. However, I’d love some advice on jigging. I’ve got a few different plastics, and most of the people I’ve seen down here don’t seem to be using live bait at all, mostly plastics. I’ve watched the IDO videos where they do slow retrieve with plastics, like the moxie. Can I jig those, too? How do I know when to use jigging vs. a blade bait or a crank bait? Or is it mostly trail and error? Do cranks ever work in the tailgaters pre-spawn? Thanks for any advice!

nhamm
    Inactive
    Robbinsdale

This is how I personally like to get jiggy
    jiggy

bbuchho90

Sure can. I’m fairly new to river fishing as well, BUT, here’s what I’ve learned.

Jigging on the river allows the current to provide action to the plastic even when you’re “sitting still”. The colder the water, the slower you want to jig your setup. A lot of people will bounce the jig up and down non-stop, but that can turn fish away in these cold water temps (if the water is still cold down there). In cold water, keeping the bait almost still with subtle lifts once in a while will probably boat the most fish.

Although I know people will pull cranks in cold water for the “reaction” strike, blades and cranks are best when the fish are aggressively feeding (pre-spawn/post-spawn). If the water is in the mid 40’s down there already, it’s probably a good time to break those out. Fish shallow current seams with them, or shallow slack water in general near current. Lift it up so you can feel the vibration, let it fall until it hits bottom, then lift it again as soon as it does. There are some great IDO episodes with James and Eric fishing pool 4 with rattle/blade baits. Watch those if you havent yet!

MDK

This is super helpful, thanks! I know I’ve just gotta put in the time and through trial and error figure stuff out. I appreciate the help.

mahtofire14
    Mahtomedi, MN