Group 27 vs 31 batteries for 24V trolling motor

• rvvrrat
    The Sand Prairie

I’m installing a new 24V trolling motor. I have room to put in either group 27 or 31 batteries (it’s an older boat so yes, this was a concern).

Anyone have an opinion on weather the added expense of group 31 batteries is worth the upgrade over 27s?

Browndog
    Omaha, NE

Bigger is always better if you can afford it and have the space.

supercat
    Eau Claire, WI

I will just say this I have never heard someone say I wish I would of put in smaller batteries.

Randy Wieland
    Lebanon. WI

I will just say this I have never heard someone say I wish I would of put in smaller batteries.

100% agree

robby
    Quad Cities

Bigger is always better if you can afford it and have the space.

Righto!

Denny O
    Central IOWA

Golly gee will-a-kers, I wish I would of put in smaller batteries. jester

Bearcat89
    North branch, mn

I have been running 27s in my boat for many years. Never have had a issue. But if I found the right priced 31s when mine die I will buy them. If not I wouldn’t stress about it. And my motor guide xi5 take a beating

Mike W
    MN/Anoka/Ham lake

Just picked up a pair of intersate 27efb today. Suposed to be a little better quality than the 27dc you find at fleetfarm, costco, ect. Thought for about $150 each I would give yhem a try.

buckybadger
    Upper Midwest

I run 27s and have no regrets. Sure, 31s would offer more run time…but for my style of fishing it hasn’t been an issue. If I replace mine soon I’d save the $ and weight and go with 27s again, but everyone’s situation is different.

Denny O
    Central IOWA

I’ve got Interstate 31AGM
    But only 4 of them. shock I don’t run out of bunny drum beating power. rotflol

Bearcat89
    North branch, mn

I’ve got Interstate 31AGM
    But only 4 of them. shock I don’t run out of bunny drum beating power. rotflol

I will happily keep running my 27s before ever paying that much for batteries

Smellson