Grounding sonar unit

• Nate Northup
    Madison, WI area

Hey guys,

Thanks for all the input and suggestions on sealing transom holes for my new transducer, it was a big help.

Have another question now regarding the display. I’ve attached a picture here. On the back of my display there is a ring terminal with a ground symbol. I’ve never heard of or seen grounding directly to the display before so I’m puzzled. The installation guide mentions nothing about what/where/how to do this either.

As always, thanks for your help guys!

Nate

Attachments:
    1. D7B5B5DE-81F6-4AE8-9153-B8EDFEDE2EC5.jpeg

Randy Wieland
    Lebanon. WI

I’m not an electrical engineer by any means…but I do know that when some equipment is linked together, it requires a grounding bond. Additionally, if electronics are installed in an environment where static shock is common, having a chassis ground prevents damage. I would refer to the installation manual for the best suggestion on what needs to be done

Nate Northup
    Madison, WI area

Thanks Randy. Any suggestion on where to run the ground wire to? The manual doesnt mention/explain anything related to grounding, so I’m at a bit of a loss.

munchy
    NULL

What unit is that?

Nate Northup
    Madison, WI area

It’s a Garmin Striker Plus 9sv.

Randy Wieland
    Lebanon. WI

Nate, I was curious about this and did a little more research this morning. Probably more than enough information out there to really confuse a guy.