Droid

• Dean Marshall
    Chippewa Falls WI /Ramsey MN

Just got the 2.2 update on my incredible. As I am a newbie to Droid operating systems,what are the benefits in day to day use? Any IDO benefits from it?

mplspug
    Palmetto, Florida

Depends what you are looking to do with it. Have you searched and looked through the Droid (Android) threads here?

James Holst
    Keymaster
    SE Minnesota

Quote:

Just got the 2.2 update on my incredible. As I am a newbie to Droid operating systems,what are the benefits in day to day use? Any IDO benefits from it?

Some small navigation changes. Still no flash support. This one was a complete yawn for me. Bring on FLASH support, please.

mplspug
    Palmetto, Florida

James, which phone do you have again? The GF got the 2.2 update with Flash a couple days ago while I sit here hitting the check for updates button every half hour since. This staggered updates crap is a joke.

James Holst
    Keymaster
    SE Minnesota

Android 2.2 on a motorola droid. And yes, staggered updates = dumb.

Dean Marshall

Quote:

Depends what you are looking to do with it. Have you searched and looked through the Droid (Android) threads here?

Couple last nite….but not too much that really meant anything to me. I need a techie translator.

Was recalling that it would assist us some how in uploading pics on IDO from the phone ?

mplspug
    Palmetto, Florida

I don’t think you can with the web browser that comes with it. I think some tried with other browsers without success too, because I think it won’t let them access the file system….I think.

Maybe once I get Flash I’ll try creating a AIR app (I think you can create AIR apps for the Droid) and maybe I could have it access images through that. It’d be easier if IDO had APIs built into the board.

I know, too techie, just thinking out loud.

James Holst
    Keymaster
    SE Minnesota

Quote:

Quote:

Couple last nite….but not too much that really meant anything to me. I need a techie translator.