Trolling reel backing

• timmyg144

I’m just getting into trolling and was wondering what line to use on a line counter reel.I’ve been told that the reel needs to be close to capacity for the counter to be accurate.Could i use a mono and then finish with a braided line or should i keep it all the same?Seems like they would hold alot of line.Thanks for your help!

James Holst
    Keymaster
    SE Minnesota

Save the money and go with a mono for the backing. I always use 14# – 20# mono. I go heavier than most because your backing is going to be buried under your braid for years at a time and will only see the light of day when you really need it. Like when a monster muskie runs off a couple hundred feet of braid and you find yourself praying that your 3 year old backing hasn’t deteriorated from heat and age. I usually use trilene XT for backing but any quality line will do… no need to get anything fancy though.

timmyg144

Thanks James,i appreciate the response.By the way,i enjoy your videos!Good stuff!!Thanks again

stuart
    Mn.

He got me using Spider wire stealth,change it out every 2 yrs.Its a very good line for trolling.

stuwest
    Elmwood, WI

I go the other way on my trolling rigs. I back with 12#, usually with Trilene XT or an equivalent.

The reasoning is that if a fish is trying to run my reel, I want as much time as possible to turn the fish. I like having 200-300 yards on the reels. I have had fish run me way down, but rarely out if I rig as above.

James Holst
    Keymaster
    SE Minnesota

Quote:

James what type of braid do you use, and how often do you change the braid?

Spiderwire stealth in 20/6. It has very good abrasion resistance and strength to diameter. And the stuff costs less. I have no issues getting 2 – 3 years or more on it.

James Holst
    Keymaster
    SE Minnesota

Quote:

By the way,i enjoy your videos!Good stuff!!Thanks again

Thank you! As long as someone is willing to watch we’ll keep making them.

Brad Juaire