15″ walleye minimum size limit on pool 4

• gary_wellman
    South Metro

This may sound like a stupid question, but I got into a debate on this the other day. I’m still not exactly sure of the Minnesota regulations, so hopefully this can be cleared up, since I’m fairly new to the river fishing down there.

Is the 15″ minimum size limit only for Walleyes? Or does it apply to Sauger and Saugeye also? The regulation states “15” minimum size for “Walleye”. It gives you the catch limit for walleye / sauger, however only the lenth limit for walleye….

Can anyone shed a little light on this????

Thanks!

jon_jordan
    St. Paul, Mn

Walleye only. You can keep short saugers.

If you catch what you believe is a Saug-eye, I would make sure it’s at least 15 inches just to be on the safe side.

J.

gary_wellman
    South Metro

Thanks Jon. That’s what I thought, but I didn’t want to have a game warden tell me different and give me a recommendation to donate to the dnr if I was wrong.

Personnaly, I would rather eat a 14″ sauger than a 20″ walleye……..better eatn’

b_sander
    Red Wing , MN

Exactly what Jon said!

15″ for Walleye

No size limit for Saugar/Saug-eye

But it doesnt make any sence to keep them small saugars anyway, theres nothing there to eat!

gary_wellman
    South Metro

Contraire, I personnaly love taking a 14″ or 15″ walleye and deep frying the filet. Perfect eating size. I like to leave those bigger fish for spawning purposes (just a personal feeling that makes me believe that I’m helping keep the walleyes around.

I’m also still a little gun shy about eating anything out of the river (old school with all the pollutants in the system).

b_sander
    Red Wing , MN

Cool whatever works!

I cant help it but

—————
    Let em go so they can grow

Dean Marshall
    Chippewa Falls WI /Ramsey MN