Trolling For Muskies

• bradcegla

i have been fishing for muskies now for three years. i have spent all of my time casting. i really enjoy moving around the lake and “hunting” for muskies with every cast. but sometimes the old gun gets tired. so i was hoping for some info on musky trolling. for example what speeds am i looking for , what depths should i be trolling for and would i run my plug at the bottom depth i am trolling or keep it more in the middle of the water column. what type of plugs work best, and what time of the season is trolling going to produce. i have read books and magazines about the subject but some more more insight would be great. thnks

keepcasting
    Excelsior

Personally I think that trolling for muskies can be effective year round. Traditionally it is more of a fall pattern w/ crankbaits (Jakes/Magnum Shad Raps/Grandmas), however, I have had success in the middle of the summer trolling big spinner baits just inside of the weedlines, so I would consider it a year round option. The two times that I will definately turn to trolling (other than when the arms are tired) is when I am on new water trying to locate active fish, or when you are faced with a really large piece of structure or shoreline that could produce. I have only caught a dozen or so Muskies, so I am sure that some of the more experienced guys can add to that, but that is my 2 cents.

Bob Bowman
    MN