New TV??

• brian_peterson
    Eagan, MN

So after my many ice fishing expeditions this year, I kinda bartered with the wife and told her if I could make one more run up to LOTW we could get a new tv. We do need one, so here’s what I’m throwwing around. 42 inch something that hangs on the wall. Plasma? LCD? What does everybody suggest? I’m looking to spend around 2k. Help me out fellas!! The tv tech at Sam’s Club was talking mumbo jumbo so that tells you how much I know about tv’s. Thanks!!

steveo
    W Central Sconnie

take a look at the Panasonic 42″ plasma. around 1600 bucks at Best Buy or Circuit City. I am going to wait until after the Super Bowl. I am counting on prices going down dramatically.

Steve Plantz
    SE MN

I am no expert by any means and someone can correct me if I am wrong but from what I understand that in 2008 the FCC will come out with a mandatory tuner for all TV’s. Right now there are different tuners for different brands of TV’s. When the new tuner comes out there will be allot of TV’s out there that will not work without adding a converter box like the one that comes with digital cable. So for now I am holding off on getting an expensive TV until after this new tuner comes out. I will try and stop by Best Buy one of these days to see if I can confirm this.

fisherman-j
    Northern MN

Well . . . if you purchase a new 150hp+ E-Tec you can get a “free” LG flat screen

brian_peterson
    Eagan, MN

Do you think they would take my 140DF Suzy on trade??

James Holst
    Keymaster
    SE Minnesota

Quote:

take a look at the Panasonic 42″ plasma. around 1600 bucks at Best Buy or Circuit City. I am going to wait until after the Super Bowl. I am counting on prices going down dramatically.

I would look at Tiger Direct before I bought anywhere local. I do a fair amount of business with them on computers, memory, monitors, etc., and their prices are usually pretty tough to beat.