monitoring internet activity (kids)

• mnfan
    Rochester MN

Anyone have a suggestion for software to ‘shadow’ internet & email activity? Free downloads, or otherwise??

Thanks in advance IDA!
    John

jesse
    mn

I highly reccomend every possible measure you can take. Everyone with kids NEEDS to monitor what is going on. I am a police officer and we did an internet sting posing as juveniles on the computer. Some of these guys drove hours through a snowstorm to get here, and some of the local people we arrested talked to us for as little as four to five minutes and they were on their way to meet us. These people are sick, and will say and do anything to get to meet. DO EVERYTHING YOU CAN TO PROTECT YOUR CHILDREN, THESE THINGS ARE HAPPENING IN YOUR NEIGHBORHOODS AS WELL. Sorry to ramble, I can’t offer any suggestions on software, but just being watchful and nosy as you can with your children on the internet is the best defense, couple that with software, and you will definately reduce the risks.

gjk1970
    Annandale Mn.

kpd~
    No need to be sorry for rambling cause a guy from your occupational field knows first hand what is happening out there and how these perves are invading our homes via the internet. To top it off these people are not only attacking the children but also your bank accounts any info they can pry out of our kids over the internet they can and do use to there advantage..
    I have two boys and my oldest has gotten into some pretty nasty stuff online. Needless to say he does not get on much anymore cause I get tired of standing behind him watching each and every move he makes. 15 years old and being babysat by dad during any school project involving the internet….

mnfan
    Rochester MN

kpd – thanks for the info (& remember reading & hearing the news – keep up the great job)….exactly why we are concerned. Fully trust our kids, but there are a TON of bizarre individuals looking to take advantage of the innocent.