Kicker and Main Motor Working Together

• TSCTSC
    Rochester, MN

Is it possible for someone who has a kicker to have in trimmed into the water and working at full throttle at the same time as the main motor??? Will it work. So if someone has a 90HP and a 8HP kicker, when both are working, they have 98HP pushing together. Does it work that way??

chris-tuckner
    Hastings/Isle MN

No.
    You are kidding, right?

danno34

Tell me you dont own a Boat

Jack Naylor
    Apple Valley, MN

Just in case HE is not kidding,
    the answer is still,
    NO, but then there’s still, well; Just NO

Brian Klawitter
    Keymaster
    Minnesota/Wisconsin Mississippi River

Not that I’m an expert on this…’cause I can bearly run one motor…but

to run two motors they must be the same hp and I believe one has to run the opposite direction of the other.(not to be confused with reverse!)

The only thing running an 8 with a 90 will do…is slow you down…and wastes gas.

TSCTSC
    Rochester, MN

Thanks. Just a thought. Cos I know like Brian says…some boats have dual same HP motors. I just thought if there is any particular reason why dual different HP motors cannot run together…..
    Just a wild thought…

But a second question is…if you are underway with the main motor, must the kicker be tilted out of the water or can it be left in the water??

Brian Klawitter
    Keymaster

Vincent, it can be left in the water…but I wouldn’t for these reasons…and there maybe more…

1) it’s going to slow you down
    2) it’s going to spray water all over and likely back into the boat
    3) I’m guessing it’s not going to be good for the bearings on around the prop area to spin in nutural…kind like the rule about leaving your motor in gear while trailoring it..so the prop doesn’t spin.

If you going to be moving a short distance and fairly slowly, I wouldn’t think it’s going to bother anything.

Brian Klawitter
    Keymaster