Spring Muskies?

• bradcegla

So i have been fishing for muskies for a couple years now and yet to catch any. I am really looking forward to June opener and would love any and all tips for successful muskies hunts early in the season.

dan-larson
    Cedar, Min-E-So-Ta

I like to fish small baits in the spring, like Musky Candy, or small single Mepps. Another bait that can be really hot is Rattle Traps. One last bait I will throw out here is tubes.

Keep in mind the fish are post spawn and are quite negative until water temps approach the upper 60’s and low 70’s. Often in the spring we see more fish sunning themselves in the shallows than acutally chasing baits. I don’t know where you live but here in the cities and smaller lakes up north we find a lot of fish keying on schools of crappies that have left the shallows to the weed flats and edges.

gary_wellman
    South Metro

Gliders too, will put fish in the boat. I love the 6″ Phantoms for that time of the year. Nice methodical swims back and forth and a few twitches here and there to change it up.

Like Dan said, you want things kinda slow……..Not the time of year to be burning bucktails.

Another option not to forget is twitching big cranks. 8″ shallow cranks twitched and pulled can also put fish in the boat……especially as a throw-back lure if you have a fish that is a follower….

Bob Bowman
    MN