Drywall question

• Willeye
    La Crosse, WI

I’m finishing an office and a bathroom in my basement and am trying to do most of it myself (other than the plumbing and electric). I’m about a week away from hanging drywall (with some help from friends) and my question is on whether or not I should try to do the mud, tape, and texture myself or spare the hassle and hire a professional to come in and do it.

Some folks have told me that it is not too difficult, but others have said that it will drive one insane. I’ve never done this type of work before, but like to think that I am fairly competent at following instructions and advice. The bathroom is 10 by 6 with an 8 foot celling, and the office is 14 by 13 with a 9 foot ceiling.

My follow-up question would be how much I might expect to pay someone to do this work.

Thanks in advance for your advice.

Curt

jon_jordan
    St. Paul, Mn

Most of the “Big Box” hardware super stores have “How To” videos that they rent, check out or give away. Might want to look into that.

-J.

Shane Hildebrandt
    Blaine, mn

doing the mudding and texturing isn’t all that hard, but making sure that you get your drywall seems tight together so when you do tape you are getting a great finish. but the flip side of hiring it out, it will look nice and be done right without you having to learn that you put the mud on to thick, or to thin and you have a warranty. rooms that size, i would ahve to say some where around $800 i am thinking. stick boy would have a bettter idea on that cost.

shane

TroyR
    Silver Lake MN

Taping, mudding, and Texture, are all easy, it is the sanding that is the pain. As long as you sand it smooth, or smooth enough depending on how rough the texture, you won’t have any problems. It will be well worth saving the money and doing it yourself.

buckmaster

Willeye,