Boat Financing

• duckilr
    Mississippi River

I am looking to purchase a new (for me used) bass boat either soon but most likely in the spring. I was just curious what you all are finding for financing as far as rates/terms/etc. I checked the local banks and I think they want about 7.5% interest which seems a little high to me. Anyone know where to look to find better rates, or where are some of you guys Banking? I’d like to pay my payments by all my winnings, but I am not going to quit my day job just yet. Thanks guys,

jhalfen

I belong to a local credit union (RCU) that does boat loans at the same rates as auto loans. When I boat a new Lund 4 years ago I got a 5.5% rate, now their auto loan rates are in the 5-6% range. You can check them on the web at the link below:

Royal credit union

bow1
    Maynard, Iowa

A good friend of mine has a Charger bass boat that he wants sell. Nice boat, could be bought for $5000.

Bob Bowman
    MN

I AM A LOAN OFFICER AT A CREDIT UNION. WE FINANCE BOATS ALL OF THE TIME. RATES ARE MUCH BETTER HERE THEN AT A BANK. IF YOU ARE LOOKING AT SOMETHING NEW WE ARE AT 5.25% AND WE CAN GO OUT TO 96 MONTHS/8YEARS- YOU CAN PM ME IF YOU WANT MORE INFO.

duckilr
    Mississippi River

…actually the boat would probably be used since you can’t hardly touch a bass boat for under 25. I am just not looking to spend that much money at this time.

Bob Bowman
    MN

OK USED BOATS ARE 6.00% AND WE CAN GO OUT 60MONTHS/5 YEARS

skhartke
    Somerset, WI

We did a combo boat loan, 2nd mortgage. That way we are able to deduct our interest on our taxes. Other wise would a home equity line of credit be possible?

Bob Bowman
    MN

WITH RATES ON THE RISE I WOULD NOT GO WITH A HOME EQUITY LINE OR A RATE THAT IS NOT FIXED. THE LOAN THAT YOU DID TO DEDUCT THE INTEREST AT THE END OF THE YEAR, I DO ALSO WE CALL THEM A RPM- REGULAR BOAT LOAN PLUS MORTGAGE- THE MORTGAGE IS ONLY FOR THE INTREST DEDUCT- A FIXED RATE IS THE ONLY WAY TO GO. MY 2 CENTS-

PatNagle