MN vs. WI Border Waters fishing license question

• jimsiewert

Hopefully someone out there can answer this for me. On Lake Pepin (and the rest of the border waters) If you are a Wisconsin resident & possess a Wisconsin fishing license, you can run 3 rods I believe. Minnesota license holders can run 2 rods. What if you are a Minnesota resident with a valid Wisconsin license. Can you then run 3 rods?? Any help would be appreciated

Jimmy Siewert

kooty
    Keymaster
    1 hour 15 mins to the Pond

Jim,

I would suggest calling the respective DNR departments, but my understanding is this. I’m a MN resident, so I have to follow the MN regulations, whether I have a non-resident license or not. I also have understood it as a WI resident must stay on the WI side of the river. Please don’t quote me on this, but this is my understanding of the rules.

John

Brian Klawitter
    Keymaster
    Minnesota/Wisconsin Mississippi River

Quote:

I’m a MN resident, so I have to follow the MN regulations, whether I have a non-resident license or not.

This is correct….if you talk to a MN CO…the story changes if you are stopped by a WI CO…play it safe and follow the MN rules.

bassmaster
    SE, MN

You are only allowed 2 lines regardless of what state your license is from. There are border water regulations that are seperate from the 2 states regular regs. I got this info off Minnesotas DNR regs. online.

davec
    St. Paul MN.

Whenever fishing any border water the stricker law applys to the license you have.”example mn. lincense you must go by wis, no cull reg.’

Craig Matter
    Hager City,Wi

I don’t believe that is true. Wisconsin-Minnesota border regulation states nothing about only using two line. Wiscosin residents I beleve can fish with three lines. The wiscosin regulation state that: