BWCAW

• hooknfinger
    Rochester, Minnesota

I am going to be heading up to the boundary waters area for about a week during the last week in may. Does anyone know anything fishing wise there i.e. presentations, lures, or hot spots while up there. Any info would be great. Its my first time going up there and i heard there is great fishing for all species up there. Thanks guys

Jake
    Muddy Corn Field

any idea of which lakes you may be going to? i’ve been on a few of the more popular routes, i could possibly help point you in the right direction

as far as techniques……for wallys, leeches under a slip bobber have worked well for me in the past. you can also try the plastics thing, although i’ve had minimum success for wallys with those up there.

smallies will still be a bit sluggish yet that far north, but you should be able to get some using slower presentations…….the banjo minnow for example (sorry, inside joke)

and the toothy critters are always willing to munch on anything and everything (watch your toes)

what really helped me was going to the lake finder feature on the DNR website……they have topo maps for a lot of the larger lakes. A definate plus if you don’t have a little protable depth finder to bring along.

JonathanB
    Greenbush, MN