Boat and Motor Over Kill??

• StaleMackrel

I have been thinking about this for sometime. This is a great site and I appreciate it. I do not want to offend anyone with this topic. When I read, for example, that someone wants to know if his boat will do 50 mph. with his motor choice, or I see huge boat rigs on pool 4, 5, or 5a, I wonder why? I am a 65 year old fisherman who has fished all of my life(thanks to my dad). I started out for river and lake fishing with a 6 h.p. Johnson. I graduated to an eithteen Evinrude. Then I got a 14 Lund to go with my motor. Next came a 16 foot Yukon with a 40 Evinrude. Then it was a 16 foot Starcraft Super Sport with an Evinrude 70. The gas scare of the 70’s brought me down to a 16 foot AlumaCraft with a 35 Evinrude. Follow that with a 16 foot Lund with a 40 Evinrude. Then a 16 foot Alumacraft with a 60 Merc and now a 18 foot Alumacraft with a 90 four stroke Merc. Wow, now I am surrounded on the river and lakes with numerous 150 to 200 plus rigs. I am thinking that after I get done with going up north on the big lakes maybe I should go back to a 16 foot boat with a 40 or less motor to fish the river. I realize that for safety and comfort in fishing lakes and rivers that you should get the biggest, widest, and deepest boat you can get. However, when is too big, overkill? In particular I have two friends who do a real number on me with catching results that have small rigs. Does this ring a bell with any of you?

davec
    St. Paul MN.

Its a matter of prefrence.I used to run a 75 horse tiller and miss the good milage,with that boat and moter I could go about 34mph with was suffeint for fishing.Now with my bigger faster bass boat, getting there is half the fun.I used to fish with an old timer that kept stepping up to bigger boats to help from gettig beat up on the water.Rarly did he go over 15 mph, he beleived if he would have ran larger boats for 60 years he was angling he would be in better shape now

kevinneve