Frabill 241 Inline Reel (drag defect?)

• Oldreddbeard

Hey guys, I’m still learning all the ins and outs of inline reels. I have done some pretty extensive research (IMO) and decided I would give them a try this year. I’m kind of an ebay nerd so I did some scouting and found a deal that was too good to pass up. It’s a Frabill 241 Bro series 30″ quicktip COMBO for $25. Yes, I know the 241 is far from the best, and yes, I’ve read all the good and bad reviews, so I was aware of what I was buying, and c’mon you can’t beat $25 combo FACTORY SEALED. Plus, I didn’t want to brake bank on a reel I might not like so I thought it was the best bang for buck. However, don’t mind my choice of vocabulary (still learning the terms and names of the reels functions), I noticed that the drag system wasn’t clicking when I pulled line out, and it just doesn’t seem “smooth” (at least like I think it would). Does this model not have the drag clicking system? Is there a hidden feature on the reel that I have overlooked? And if it’s a defect, can it be fixed? Or am I better off sending it back to it’s seller? I also purchased the Frabill 101xla a few weeks earlier and the drag and everything about it is awesome actually, which is why I’m concerned, because the specs on the 241, from my research, seemed to be better than worse compared to the 101xla. Any thoughts would be very helpful. I really don’t enjoy going through the postal return procedures.

Attachments:
    1. s-l1600.jpg

Josh Bothum