Field Dressing and Processing Deer

• Barrertt

I am new to the forums and hope someone can point me in the right direction.

I have been hunting deer for many years and have recently started processing my own. I follow the gutless method of field dressing and skin and quarter the deer in the field.

The problem I am having is that I end up with pretty gamey meat.

I don’t think the issue is letting the meat sit too long or get to warm. Since I quarter in the field and pack it out I always have an ice filled cooler in the car to put it in for the drive home.

Once home I soak the meat for a hour or so in cold water to clean it off. Then I dry it and put it back in an ice filled cooler for 4-5 days. I put a bunch of ice on the bottom of the cooler, then the meat and then more ice and I drain it at least once per day.

After coming out of the cooler I bone it out, trim the silver skin and vacuum seal it for later processing. I do sometimes go straight to processing, just depends on how much time I have.

I have processed 4 deer this way. They are very tender but my family doesn’t enjoy eating them because of the gaminess. I don’t know if I am doing something wrong or if it’s just because of my hunting location and deer are living on browse rather than on corn and beans.

Some things I wonder about…

Should bone it out before putting in on ice for 4-5 days?

Should I hang the quarters rather than use the cooler method?

Does it need more than 4-5 days?

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Attachments:
    1. KidsDeer-2020-1.jpg

2. KidsDeer-2020.jpg

onestout
    Hudson, WI