Any tiller guys running e-tecs??

• johnksully
    Lakeville, MN

Are any of you tiller guys running e-tecs. I am debating between the yamaha and the e-tec but I can get a pretty good deal on a used e-tec. What’s everyone’s opinions?

Mike W
    MN/Anoka/Ham lake

What size are you looking at? I would go yamaha.

johnksully
    Lakeville, MN

75 hp. I would prefer the yamaha also. But I think I can get a heck of a deal on the e-tec. I was wondering if anyone is having any problems with the e-tecs. I know it’s 4-stroke vs. 2-stroke. How well do the e-tecs troll down?

waterfowled

I don’t have any experience with E TEC’s. I’ve been running Yamaha’s of various sizes since 1990. Have been very happy with their performance, and reliability. The few problems I have had where promptly taken care.

bare67
    Metro MN

I hate to say but I would look at Yamaha, Mercury, Suzuki in that order. The Yamahas and Mercs have great handles made for tillers.
    I’m sure that the Etech is a great motor, but there handle is not up to par compared to the others.

dea
    Hixton, WI

I have one E-TEC tiller out there. It is a 50 HP. He bought it two years ago and no problems at all. Very happy with it. Be sure you have the system check gauge hooked up also. Lots of power and yes, they do troll down very nicely.

joeyno5
    Rochester MN.