Water in gear oil of new Merc. outboard.

• somann

I bought a new fish hawk this year with a 4 stroke EFI Merc (60 hp Outboard). I only used the boat this season enough to break in the motor, and was never kept in the water when not in use. Yesterday when changing the gear oil for the first time the gear oil came out a very milky, carmely color (obvious water) The plugs seemed tight when removing them, so I am not suspecting them. The volume of oil that came out was about an OZ more than the specified capacity. Whats the likely source of the water incoming? Is there potential for damage during this summer’s use? I did not notice any metalic shavings or anything as such. I have not talked to the dealer yet, but what do I need to make sure they address when its “fixed”. I want to make sure its done right, and if anything could have been compromised as a result of water in the oil all summer, i.e. corrosion, bearing damage… etc. Any info would be helpful, as I am not an outboard mechanic.

somann

Picture of the gear oil

Castaway
    Otsego,MN

Take it in and they will do a pressure test on it.More than likely a seal.Did you get any line stuck in the prop?Could have been bad from the start to.Alos if you ever change the lower unit lube spend the extra buck and replace the washers on the plugs.I have seen old ones leak.

somann

Have not had any line in the prop, I’m aware that can take out a seal. Any long term damage I need to worry about ?

lenny_jamison
    Bay City , WI

As Castaway stated, take it in and have them test it. It may be a seal. It may only be condensation.

Castaway
    Otsego,MN

I doubt if you damaged anything.A little water makes oil look pretty bad.I would show the dealer the pic though.

david_scott
    Twin Cities