Looking at a new spinning reel?

• tom_gursky
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula(Iron Mountain)

Professional Guiding puts some added stress on gear. I thought I would pen some thoughts on purchasing a new reel.There have been some inquiries here lately on spinning reels. While I am not a self proclaimed expert, I have over 40 years dealing with a serious fishing addiction… (Still in recovery) , and have had many, many reels.

Not all ball bearings(bbls) are created equal…

A simple glance at the # of ball bearings is not always a good measure of a reel’s overall quality. Example: Mitchell Avocet Gold, Diawa Samurai both have 8 bbl…list for under 30$(and are pretty decent reels!). However the Diawa Certate, Shimano Stradic, and St. Croix Avid reels have only 5 bbl and are over $100. So what gives?
    It is the quality of the bearings and, the roundness, hardness and degree of polished surface. These are called super bearings.

Quantum has a Polymer/SS hybrid bearing that goes in all their reels and IS a factor in quality/price. They also have gone to an all magnetic bail system that peaks my interest. I see the Kinetic PTs have all the bells and whistles (albeit a few less bbls) for under $80

Also look for a durable bail/spring, oversized bail roller…even line spooling, instant anti reverse, and a good smooth drag. Many of the more notable Guides/Pros here use light lines…6 or 8# test when jigging the river, when that 11,12, or 13# Walleye crunches your jig…you WILL need a smooth, dependable drag.

I have had good luck with Shimano, Diawa, and Quantum. My favorite for the past several years that I have been guiding (on a tip from Mr. Holst) has been the Fin Nor Ahab-lite. However that company recently went into receivership so it is an uncertain future for those reels. I am also pleased with a couple new St. Croix Avids that I purchased last year.